How to Make Sure Your NaNo Project Isn’t a Hot Mess

Hi guys, I thought I’d share this with you as NaNoWriMo is just around the corner and Kristen Lamb is the queen of NaNo with tons of fantastic and very helpful advice. In this post she’s also invited Jami Gold to share her strategies and hints and guidelines with you. I thought it a fantastic post worth sharing with my writer friends. Enjoy!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

I LOVE NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, which is November). It is a fantastic way to push ourselves and also for new writers to be introduced to a professional pace and a professional attitude. When we do this “writing thing” for a living, we have to write no matter what.

I’ve written books while a toddler stood whacking me with a sword. I’ve written blog posts from hospital rooms or the day after funerals. Life doesn’t stop because we want to “create.” Family gets sick, houses need to be cleaned, and bills need to be paid. Often we have to balance a day job, too.

Though I encourage you all to try NaNo, I offer a caveat. Invest in a little planning.

There are few things more defeating that to a) start off hot and heavy only to write ourselves into a corner or b) invest a month of suffering and…

View original post 1,569 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on October 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing my guest post at Kristen’s blog! 🙂 Good luck to all who do NaNo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

