Book 3 Out in May! Read All About It in This Rockin’ Interview!

The Cover Image for Book 3: The Sword Bearer's Awakening

The Cover Image for Book 3: The Sword Bearer’s Awakening

Yay!! Finally, the postal strike in Joburg is over and I will be getting my sample printed copies to check before giving the final go-ahead for printing. Then the ebook will follow, and hopefully by mid-May The Sword Bearer’s Awakening will be available!

It’s been another year of incredible excitement and hard work and an emotional rollercoaster of note, but, as always, I’ve loved every minute of it! What’s not to like about creating and seeing your world and your characters come so vividly to life? Seven hundred pages is quite an accomplishment, I’m sure you can agree :), but when I love what I do so much it’s always way more pleasure than pain.

Scott Richards, fantastic writer and blogger, did a  great interview with me a little while ago on his site The Shroud Between (you can view the original interview here), and I’d like to share that with you now so that you can get a better understanding and more insight into Book 3. Enjoy!

cover-for-book-2.jpg

It’s rude to start without small talk, so how the heck are ya?

Very well, thanks, Scott! I’m crazy busy editing my third book in The Sword Bearers tetralogy and loving it!

How long have you pursued writing?

I’ve always loved to create stories since I was a kid. If I didn’t write them down I’d use my overactive imagination and make up stories and characters in my head! But I began doing it fulltime in 2009. My hubby was actually the one to give me a kick in the heiny and told me to put down my story on paper.

What’s your favorite genre to read? What do you love about it?

Well, I love fantasy, naturally, and science fiction, basically anything that can take me far, far away. I love Stephen King – especially his Dark Tower series – and other writers that have excellent storytelling abilities like Clive Cussler and Dean Koontz (who mix action/adventure with a hint of supernatural and the paranormal), to name but two of my favourite writers. There are many more.

What’s your favorite genre to write? How do you put your personal flavor on it?

Again, fantasy is my favourite because there are no limits to what I can create. The choices are endless and there are no rules – I can do anything to anyone in any given situation, as long as the reader can picture it happening.

Concerning my personal flavour, I believe that is where style comes in. Even though my books are long they read very fast because as a person I don’t like wasting time, and when I’m reading someone else’s story I hate getting bogged down in pages of backstory or explanations or descriptions. Therefore, I write the opposite to that. My stories are always full of action and more than enough detail, but the reader never gets bored. My stories are also character-driven with a lot of dialogue (which I just know readers love), and it’s important to me to get an emotional reaction from my reader – joy, excitement, sadness, anger, and frustration – and help them experience with great intensity what the characters are going through. When that happens then I’ve succeeded at being a good storyteller; I’ve succeeded at being an author.

If you had to pick five of your favorite books and/or series, what would they be?

It’s VERY hard to pick just a few, but I’ll list the ones that made the most impact on me as an author/storyteller: The Dark Tower series by Stephen King; The Magician trilogy by Raymond E. Feist; all of Terry Brooks’s books; The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan; and the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz. These are all such excellent, powerful, moving stories, and helped me to become a better writer.

Speaking of books, let’s talk about yours!

What’s yours called?

The one I’m currently editing is The Sword Bearer’s Awakening: Book 3 of my tetralogy. (I’ve begun writing the final installment already and it will get published early next year.)

The story continues with a great battle (the Final Battle) fast approaching as the main character, KC – the mighty Sword Bearer of the Sword of Heaven, a weapon capable of destroying entire worlds – has to come to terms with great loss and learns to fully embrace who she is and understand what she is capable of doing. She is the most powerful mortal in the Universe, and in Book 3 she goes through a learning process both painful and fulfilling, and she eventually overcomes her self-doubts and accepts the truth about herself. But even as she grows in understanding and power a malevolent arch demon, Drakoor s’et, is trying very hard to capture KC and obtain the Sword of Heaven in order to free his imprisoned brethren from the Void, a place Kurrn (the Creator God in this story) cast them eons ago when they rebelled against Him.

Is this your first or just the latest?

This is the latest. The first one, published in 2010, is called The Sword Bearers and the second, published in 2012, is titled The Sword Bearer’s Journey.

Genre?

This tetralogy is an Epic Fantasy. It contains no elves, wizards, gnomes, fairies or the like, and the only dragon is Drakoor s’et, arch demon, when he morphs out of human form and becomes a massive, scaly beast. There is high adventure with beautiful settings and a hint of the supernatural, and in Book 2, The Sword Bearer’s Journey, the story takes off into N’varda, the galaxy where the story takes place. Here science fiction melds with fantasy and you find a wonderful combination of both genres. Alien worlds and races and galactic battles for dominance and survival take the stage. The next answer will give you an idea of the story’s style and visual setting.

Star-Wars-3-4-star-wars-34339535-403-500How’d you get the idea?

I first saw Star Wars when I was eight-years-old. This incredible movie, way ahead of its time, opened my mind and stirred my already voracious imagination into overdrive! I was amazed by the imaginations of others to be able to create such brilliance like Star Wars and the incredible adventures of the unique characters in space, and I wanted to be able to do it, too! I begun rearranging the story and coming up with characters of my own – and, of course, I was the heroine in every scenario. I was the female version of Luke Skywalker, because why couldn’t a girl have a lightsaber and be a powerful warrior, right?

From these imaginings The Sword Bearers story began to take shape, and it never lost its influence and power as I moved through life and became an adult. The story morphed and rearranged itself over and over again as I grew in maturity, until in 2009, after hearing me go on and on about how fantastic it would be to make a movie about my story, my hubby suggested I start by writing it down. And, voila, The Sword Bearers tetralogy, once just thought, became tangible, and now I’m already writing the last book!!

You have two sentences to hook us into reading it. Go!

Driven into the darkness of emotional torment and despair, KC, the Sword Bearer, slowly struggles up towards the light to try and find a way to continue on with her life after losing the one person who made it possible.
But her lust for revenge may yet undo her – and if she succumbs to it and loses sight of who she is, then the entire Universe may forever fall into the claws of Drakoor s’et, arch demon and destroyer of worlds!

If you had to pick a favorite character in the book (good guy or bad), who would it be and why?

My favourite character is definitely Talis. He’s a Shadow Weaver. His race, thought long extinct by mortals and thus pure legend, appears mostly as shifting shadows or wraiths and very rarely become solid. But Talis is different: he is half-human, half-Shadow Weaver for reasons I can’t go into here without giving away too much of the story (sorry, guys). He is KC’s best friend after the two meet in Book 2, and a formidable warrior. He is fiercely loyal to KC and will do anything for her. Saying that, he has a deeply hidden secret of his own he only reveals to KC in Book 3, which tests their friendship to the limits. Because of his human side he has to regenerate for a few hours each day in pitch darkness and in shadow form or he grows too weak. He can transform into shadow at will and transport others with him for short distances by ‘wrapping’ them in his shadow and moving faster than the eye can see.

Is it available now? Link it! If not, when?

I am hoping it will be available in April, depending on how I do with editing. In the meantime, your readers can go to the Amazon or Barnes and Noble link below for Books 1 and 2!

Anything I forgot to ask that you wanted to talk about?

I have also written a sci-fi short story called, The Door, which is available on Amazon, B&N and Smashwords.
Later this year I plan on releasing the novel I wrote during NaNoWriMo last November. It’s a story that has blended a number of genres like urban fantasy, western, science fiction and horror, so will appeal to a larger number of readers. It’s called Avalin: A Vymparii Legend.

And that’s it, guys!

I love hearing your thoughts! Please leave a comment and share what projects you are working on or what’s about to be released!

Related articles

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on April 28, 2013, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

