Once again some great advice from a very talented lady, Kristen Lamb. Enjoy!
Sorry I’ve been scarce, guys, but seeing my baby (Book Three: The Sword Bearer’s Awakening) off to the publishers has been my top priority, so until I’ve triple-checked all the galleys and my baby is gurgling, grinning, and drooling with happiness I won’t be returning for the personal touch. I think after Easter Weekend you’ll see me again and partake of my fabulous prose 🙂 Until then, keep writing and learning and growing into an even more incredible author than you already are and we’ll chat soon. Mwah!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

This week, we’ve talked a lot about some fundamental errors that can weaken the writing. Most all of us make one or more of these errors, especially when we’re new. Hey, that’s called “being NEW.” No one is born with the natural ability to write brilliant, perfect novels coded into their DNA. It takes time and practice, so give yourself permission to make mistakes…then learn, suck it up and back to work.

It writes the words or it gets the hose *pets fluffy white dog*

Today I’m again donning my editor’s hat to give you a peek into what red flags agents (and even readers) see in those first five pages.

Red Flag #1

If Your Novel has More Characters than the Star Wars Prequels, You Might Need Revision

Don’t even get me started about Jar Jar Binks.

Whenever the author takes the time to name a character, that is…

View original post 1,084 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on March 28, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

