There is some great advice here so I had to share! I know it’s difficult for us busy writers when we have those ‘still’ moments, when nothing seems to be happening and we’re in between books or a job or writing project. We feel guilty, out of sorts, itchy, and useless when we aren’t slogging away at our computers writing!! But it’s important to understand that in those valleys, as Kristen puts it, in those dark quiet times, is where we learn the most. Being still and living in the now/the moment, and listening to our Muses, is, I believe, more important than those times we’re writing. In the valley – the meantimes – is where we receive inspiration and guidance and where we are most open to growing and becoming better writers and people.

Please share your thoughts. You know I love listening!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 6.10.27 AM

I came from a broken family who only knew broken ways. I felt adrift and couldn’t seem to find direction. Everything I did was always to please others, yet it left me empty and even more lost. I saw others being happy, successful, but every day felt like just more pain. I was terrified of making mistakes, paralyzed by the thought I might “fail” or be a “failure.” That’s one of the reasons I blog so much on changing our relationship with failure. If we don’t, we can never see success.

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 6.12.56 AM

Anyway, in college, I ran across a book that changed something very important in my belief system. My roommate was watching Oprah and she was interviewing Iyanla Vanzant and talking about her first book In the Meantime. When I read the book, a large part of what was wrong became instantly clear. I was always either looking back—at…

View original post 702 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

