Some great advice! It is important to maintain balance when describing or setting up a scene. Too much and the reader become bored; too little and the reader feels the story lacks meat or emotional impact! What is your opinion on this?

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

I’m not just focusing on my creative writing these days. As I’m beginning to do some editing and translation freelance work, I realize how much I love working with fiction, whether it’s mine or someone else’s. And I’m reminded of the mistakes I would make as a newbie writer–and still do from time to time, much more often than I’d like to admit, if I’m honest with myself. (That’s why editing is awesome.) Everyone knows that good editing involves a lot of moving things around and even more deletion. But why is that the case?

I can only speak for what I’ve learned from my own writing development and my own errors. And the things that I found myself deleting starting out were especially related to narrative segments. These sentences, and sometimes paragraphs, were: redundant/too detailed, or not interesting/not needed

REDUNDANCY/ TOO MUCH DETAIL

This is where adverbs are particularly…

View original post 528 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on February 25, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. There definitely needs to be some balance, but it’s hard for a new writer like myself to know where that is or how to get there. If I put too much in one story, I either cut too much in edits or don’t include enough in my next wip. It’s frustrating, but I get a feeling of accomplishment when someone says I’ve done it right. =)

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment! I think the best way to ‘test’ how much to put in or leave out is by taking note of what you enjoy or don’t enjoy when you read other authors’ works. Does waffling irritate you? Does the lack of detail leave you frustrated? For me it’s a case of what I enjoy when I read books – I hate waffling, therefore I keep my own descriptive scenes short and sweet but very detailed so that I can get back to the dialogue and action as soon as possible. Go with your instincts; trust them always, and you’ll soon find what works for you and your readers. Hope I’ve helped 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

