Some great advice!! Personally, I find it difficult not to edit when I’m in the throes of writing a new book and trying to do it perfectly, but since doing NaNoWriMo I’ve discovered the awesome power of letting go and allowing the story, in all its glory, to flow unfettered, mistakes and all! Editing MUST only happen AFTER the initial magic of inspiration has taken possession of me! Taking this extremely freeing approach, I can create a true masterpiece because Monique and her logical, practical, perfectionist brain isn’t getting in the way!!!

What are your thoughts on the subject of only editing AFTER you’ve written the complete story? Does it work for you or do you like editing as you go? I’d love to hear from you!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

I love to garden, but I am terrible at reading instructions, which means I am not going to read a How To book or gardening blogs, because I already have enough to read and this would steal time from my great joy…digging in the dirt. This means that, over the years, I’ve learned a lot through trial and error.

Code for : Killing Stuff

Three years ago, we bought our first home. We got a sweet deal on it, but it needed work. The yard was little more than mowed field. I couldn’t wait to get in and pretty it up. I slaved for hours in triple-digit Texas heat digging holes and clearing land for gardens. I’d always loved oleander and when I found them on sale at the local nursery, I was ecstatic. Normally, oleander this size were $50 and $60 but I got each for less than $20…

View original post 709 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

