The Next Big Thing Blog Hop – Yup, it’s my turn!!

Image courtesy of Jeff Whelan

Image courtesy of Jeff Whelan

This is the first time I’ve done a blog hop, and, I must say, I’ve had such fun! I am also honoured to be included with such fabulous writers today, and I want to thank Jared Anderson for inviting me to participate in this blog tour and follow on from him. Jared posted last Wednesday, the 9th, and here’s the link to his blog: http://jsascribes.wordpress.com

Jared is working hard on his first novel, The White Room (or he might still call it Cadence). It’s a horror/thriller with an erotic edge.

His second novel, Beautiful Monster – a collaboration between himself and his mentor, author Kim Williams-Justesen – has been accepted for publication. I wish you great success with both novels, Jared!

The Cover Image for Book 3: The Sword Bearer's Awakening

The Cover Image for Book 3: The Sword Bearer’s Awakening

Now, time to get down to business and answer these fun questions!

What is the working title of your book?

I’ve decided to speak about my third book in The Sword Bearers tetralogy because it’s about to come out around March/April. It’s in the editing process at the moment and taking shape. It’s titled: The Sword Bearer’s Awakening.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

This is an interesting question because even though this is the third book I actually wrote it first. The crux – more like the emotional crux – of the story is in this book. It is the most powerful and moving out of the four so far because of what happens to the main character, KC, who is the Bearer of the Sword of Heaven, a powerful, supernatural weapon that resides within her body and is capable of destroying entire worlds!

This story has been living with me since I first saw Star Wars when I was eight-years-old. The scope, the imagination, the power of that film blew me away and I realised even at such a young age that there is nothing my imagination can’t dream up. The characters and their plights, the antagonist and his relentless evil and power, and the struggle of the heroes to overcome victoriously made a huge impact on me as a kid. My imagination – always busy and utterly boundless – exploded after seeing Star Wars and I began to create my own world and characters. It only took me around 35 years to get it down on paper!!

What genre does your book fall under?

It is an Epic Fantasy/Science Fiction fusion (I love mixing genres :)) filled with high adventure, action, grand galactic battle scenes, passion, romance, loss, victory and defeat, and, of course, revenge. It has it all!

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Because nothing else on earth could match me seeing my story in the big screen I have already given some thought to this question in the past. It has taken this blog hop, however, to make me sit down and really think about it. Here are my initial choices:

KC/Khyri Vindor’hien: my main character is extremely complex. She requires an actress who can portray a carefree teenaged princess that gradually – into Books 2 and 3 – turns into a young, troubled woman carrying and learning to cope with a great burden she never wanted any part of.  In Book 1 she goes from being that happy teenager into a despairing, angry mess because of being cruelly betrayed by those she loves. Later, she falls madly in love and slowly emerges out of her shell, but throughout the story a constant, simmering anger hides just beneath the surface. The actress has to be able to express immense grief and, in Book 3 especially, gradual insanity and inner torment. But KC learns to overcome it all and in Book 3 prepares to face the demon, her arch nemesis. The actress needs to be capable of extreme physicality and well-trained in fighting techniques with sword, knife, and hand-to-hand combat as KC is an incredible warrior with skills that are preternatural in their execution.

The only actress that is the right age and can act brilliantly and has the physical capabilities for this part is Saoirse Ronan. She was superb in Hanna. If someone can suggest anyone else then please be my guest. Kate Beckinsale or Milla Jovovich would have been perfect if they were younger.

Ahloren Vindor’hien (KC’s mother; she is Sword Bearer in Book 1 before passing the Sword on to KC, and Cai’rin (High Queen) of her Territory, Theras): the perfect actress is none other than Cate Blanchett (Lord of the Rings). She has a very brief but emotionally charged scene in the beginning of Book 1/the movie.

Khyl Vindor’hien (KC’s oldest brother): here I was thinking of Chris Hemsworth (Thor).

Brahn Vindor’hien (KC’s second oldest brother): Chris Pine (Star Trek) would be perfect!

Aa’rel Beloruuis (KC’s cousin – a princess): I can see Amy Adams (Enchanted) in the part – beautiful and strong.

Jae’el Beloruuis (KC’s cousin and Aa’rel’s brother – a prince and warrior): I seem to like my Chrises :), but I think Chris Evans (Captain America) for this part would be great.

Korin Beloruuis (KC’s uncle, king of Verai – one of the largest Territories in the galaxy of N’varda – and leader of the Alliance of Territories, the most powerful opposition against Drakoor s’et, the arch demon, who’s after KC; father of Aa’rel and Jae’el): Neal McDonough (Band of Brothers; Desperate Housewives; Minority Report) has the bearing and those expressive eyes and magnetic persona!

Drakoor s’et (arch demon and the main antagonist, who appears in human form most of the time): no doubt in my mind for this one – it’s Michael Fassbender (X-Men: First Class; Prometheus). He carries off psychotic very well!!

Yanec/Jaryth (KC’s youngest brother turned into a monster by Drakoor and Bearer of the Sword of Shadows – he’s twisted, has no conscience, and is completely insane): another hard one, but I do like Logan Marshal-Green (Prometheus) for the part.

Ren dei Pal’din (KC’s first love and mate – a prince from Theras and a warrior of great skill): Orlando Bloom (Pirates of the Caribbean) has just the right look and bearing for this part, and he’s quite nice to look at, too 🙂

Talis (KC’s partner in Books 2-4 and a powerful warrior – he’s a Shadow Weaver capable of existing in solid form and transforming into shadow form at will – intense, quiet, and mysterious): I think Timothy Olyphant (Hitman) has the right intensity for this part.

Devad Tanesin (First General of Verai in charge of security for the Alliance of Territories as well as its military leader – he becomes very important to KC in a way I can’t reveal here without giving away too much of the story): my choice for him is Damien Lewis (Homeland; Band of Brothers).

And, of course, directing these fabulous actors can be none other than the visionary Peter Jackson!!

These are the main characters for Books 1-3 so I’ll leave it at that!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The only hope of the Universe lies in the hands of one broken-hearted girl, and if she fails to accept who she really is and doesn’t allow herself to fully understand and embrace who she was created to be, then the entire Universe will be annihilated by the greatest evil ever unleashed.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I have published Books 1 and 2 through Xlibris Publishing (a self-publishing company), therefore to maintain consistency in look and style I will be publishing Books 3 and 4 with them, as well.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I would say about six months.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Although my story and characters are completely unique, I have been influenced through the years by some of the great Epic Fantasy writers. If I did compare my books to other authors’ works it would have to be J. R. R. Tolkien, Raymond E. Feist, Tad Williams, the late Robert Jordan, and George R. R. Martin to name but a few, and then some of my other favourite writers David Eddings, Terry Brooks, and Stephen King. But unlike these writers’ stories my story doesn’t stay on one world – it moves across the galaxy and back, a little like Games of Thrones in space with kings and queens vying for power, planetary and galactic war, a great malevolent evil to overcome, and enemies amongst those you thought friends and allies!

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

As I mentioned earlier, seeing Star Wars when I was eight-years-old, my mother’s shared love for Fantasy and Sci-Fi movies, plus my voracious hunger for reading since I was old enough to pick up books and superhero comics, all contributed.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Even though my books are long – true to the Epic Fantasy genre – they read fast. I don’t waste time on long, drawn out explanations and backstories, and I don’t spend pages and pages on descriptions and setting up a scene, although I don’t neglect anything, either. My story is character-driven and a lot happens very quickly, keeping the reader fascinated and completely involved in the adventurous and action-packed tale. Emotionally, it is a very powerful story and every scene written is vital to what happens next. Nothing is wasted and there’s no waffling. The characters grow and learn constantly, and especially KC who, across Books 1-3, gradually learns to accept who she is – the Bearer of the Sword of Heaven. In Book 3, she finally comes to understand why she was born, and in Book 4 she learns the truth about her real identity (and it’s not what the reader thinks they know about her in the first three books 🙂 You’ll have to read Book 4 to find out what I mean!!!). The reader shares in her struggles (and those of her family and the other rich characters) and partakes of first her failures and then her victories – a truly inspiring tale of overcoming great loss and suffering.

I will be posting right here when Book 3 is released, and I’ll also inform everyone on all the Social Media platforms when the book is available. In the meantime, please go to my pages below to view Books 1 and 2 and purchase your copies 🙂

Here are my book and Social Media links:

Amazon Author Page

Barnes and Noble

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Tumblr

StumbleUpon

LinkedIn

These are my four extremely talented tagged authors to follow on after me for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Between them they cover a fantastic range of genres. Please support them next Wednesday, the 23rd!

Ruth Watson-Morris

Scott Richards

Roy Hudson

John C. Scott

Thanks for taking the time to share in my first blog hop!

I love hearing from you. Please leave a comment or any suggestions you might have. If you have questions you’d like to ask about me or my books please feel free to do so in comments.

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

