Loved this post! Had to share it!!

Live to Write - Write to Live

james deanDo you know why you write?

Not the tactical, logical, left-brain reason; but the deep down, can’t-ignore-this-thing, totally irrational reason.

Do you?

Perhaps you don’t need to know why you write. Maybe you are content to take direction from your muse without questioning her motives. You may find exploration of the driving forces behind your work irrelevant.

That’s your prerogative, BUT …

If you unearth the underlying energy that fuels your need to put words down, you can harness that power to infuse your writing with more passion and purpose. Understanding why you are compelled to pick up a pen or set your fingers racing across the keyboard can bring you a higher level of clarity and confidence. It can help you define and prioritize your writing. It can give you direction.

I have often wondered about the “why” behind my own urge to write. I’ve constructed several hypotheses…

View original post 464 more words

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on January 4, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    Thank you for sharing, Monique! Glad to “meet” you & look forward to seeing you on Twitter and elsewhere.
    🙂

    Like

    • It’s a pleasure! I loved the post. It made me finally understand why, since I was old enough to read, I lost myself in stories: I wanted my world to be as magical as the books and comics I was reading. And I always fancied myself a rebel 🙂 Writing Fantasy for me is the ultimate rebellion against reality and the nasty things in it. My stories definitely are about a world I’d love/prefer to live in 🙂 with all my loved ones beside me, of course!

      Like

      • Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

        Oh! I can so relate to that. I never thought of myself as a rebel, but Llosa’s insight has opened my eyes and given me a little extra fuel to drive my creative process forward. Somehow, having something to do battle against makes the battle easier to fight. 😉

        Like

  2. I agree! Thanks for your comments, Jamie! I love reading your posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

