Heartfelt Thanks and Christmas Wishes…and a 2012 Revisit!

Swirled Heart1

Wow, I can hardly believe the end of another year is upon us, and what a year it’s been for me!

In January I released the second book in my Sword Bearers tetralogy, The Sword Bearer’s Journey. It was a thrilling experience because writing one book can be done with some effort, but writing two and then having Book 3 already in the pipeline brought me to the realisation that, hey, I really am an author!!

Magic Book!

I always knew I had it in me; my imagination since forever has always been spectacular and never wanting for ideas. I could never write a story in school without a fantastical element to it, which usually drove my English teachers a bit crazy ‘cause I hated writing anything to do with real life! “Blah! How boring,” I’d frequently complain when they practically forced me to write about topics that did absolutely nothing for my imagination. This journey of turning the pictures in my head into words on paper has been beyond thrilling and a fantastic adventure! I have always loved books and now that I have created my own it barely seems real! I couldn’t have asked for a more magical world to live in!

This year also saw me joining the world of Social Media for the first time around March. Never could I have imagined the incredible world I was to discover and the beautiful, kind, generous friends I would make across the globe! I discovered a world of enormous writing talent, people from all walks of life with imaginations as amazing as mine, the most spectacular artwork, and websites of such knowledge and insight I had no idea existed. Facebook reconnected me with old friends AND I discovered I have two half-sisters living right here in South Africa!! He-he! Go figure!! The world of Twitter connected me to more writers and many I’ve had the privilege of becoming good friends with. And then there are sites like Goodreads, World Literary Cafe, Authors.com, Triberr, YourBookAuthors.com, to name but a few, where I connected with even more writers and readers!

The person who encouraged me to get involved in the great Social Media universe – a lady by the name of Suzanne Styles here in SA – told me how vital it was as a writer to connect with other authors and readers all over the world if I wanted to promote my work and myself, and she was so right. I had no clue about the power of Social Media until I got started. Thanks, Suzanne!! Since joining I have learned so much about marketing and promoting, and although things are moving along slowly at least hundreds more people have now heard of Monique Rockliffe and her books.

IMG_3155

I have done many interviews and my books have received fantastic reviews. I must admit here that I was terrified of getting my books reviewed by strangers, but my courage paid off and now I’m sitting with four- and five-star reviews for Books 1 and 2 and five-star reviews for my sci-fi short story, The Door.

And for 2013 the year looks just as golden!! Book 3, The Sword Bearer’s Awakening, should be ready for release around April; I am planning right after that to publish my NaNoWriMo novel, Avalin: A Vampyric Legend; and I am most certainly planning on another short story or two, depending on time. Book 4, The Sword Bearer’s Ascension, is busy being written and should be released early 2014.

On top of my writing I am still teaching ballet, and this year of dance promises to be as busy as 2012 with exams, festivals, competitions, and bursaries coming up. I have such promising and committed dancers in the studio where I teach and I am looking forward to seeing them grow and become who they are meant to be and help them achieve great things. It’s a privilege being able to contribute into someone’s life like that.

Ballet Dancer B&W

My heartfelt thanks goes to everyone who has taken the time to follow this blog and comment on occasion. I appreciate it very much, and if there is anything in particular you guys want more of in 2013, or if you want me to pursue a certain topic of discussion, then please feel free to let me know.

To everyone who has contributed in making this year a success for me and who has shown me how big and beautiful the world of writing really is, and as a result has inspired and encouraged me to never stop, I thank you and I appreciate all of you more than you’ll ever know.

Fireworks1

Have an incredible Christmas and a New Year that’ll just blow your mind!!

Warmest wishes,

Monique

PS If anyone wants a free PDF copy of The Sword Bearers, The Sword Bearer’s Journey, or The Door, then let me know asap. Offer ends the 25th at 12 midnight GMT! Please leave me your email addresses in comments!

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on December 24, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

