Appreciating Those in my World and Giving Back – A Big “Thank You” from Me!

 

I love the human spirit! We have the capacity for so much love and generosity that I am frequently left amazed, astounded, and just plain bowled over by the incredible heart and passion and love people show to one another.

Here I am, sitting at my laptop at the southern end of the world, perhaps some might say pretty far removed from where it’s ‘all happening’, and I have met the most wonderful, kind people from across the globe who constantly surprise and uplift me . . . and they don’t even know me except through the keyboard! From Facebook to Twitter to Goodreads to Triberr, I have come across people I can easily call friends, even though we have never met or spoken face to face. These friends are more than willing to share my world with their many friends without asking for anything in return. Sure, there are expectations: there are hopes that when one shares another’s blog or tweet or Facebook page that one will receive in return. But I bet if you had to ask the question why they do it, and ask those sharers to be dead honest, they would all say because it makes them feel good to support others and help them get seen and noticed, especially when they are newbies. These sharers once were, too, and they remember what it felt like to first get started and be overwhelmed, and then how amazing it was when people started paying attention to them and their work and they started making sales.

If it wasn’t for such generous people, who give without asking in return, who don’t bat an eye when you ask them to help you out by sharing, liking, retweeting, reblogging, and supporting, then none of you would know who I was.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

I am pretty new to Social Media and the great, big, world-wide writing community (I’ve only been doing SM and Networking for about five months), but in that time my followers and friends and supporters have grown beyond my wildest expectations! I’ve connected with such amazing writers and businesses, not only businesses in the writing industry but across the board from artists to web designers, consultants, financiers, even air-conditioning tradesmen!! And I thoroughly enjoy everything they share with me because I love meeting new people, and I LOVE being constantly amazed by the incredible skills we human beings posses! We are all so diverse, so interesting, so downright talented I sometimes wish we could make the world go around on that energy alone and forget everything else! Can you imagine how amazing our world would be if we only lived surrounded by all that love and support and friendship every second of every day? Awesome stuff!

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

So this week my blog is a big “Thank you” to all of you who have contributed to my rise in Social Media-dom and who have helped me connect to the global writing community by putting my name and my work out there in whichever way you did. It is truly an honour knowing every single one of you, and I would like to let you know that my personal commitment is to continue sharing what you give to the world in any way I can, as well. It fills me with such joy and gratitude to support and encourage you and be part of the unique talents each one of you possess, in whatever field you’re in.

To date, my Facebook page is rapidly growing towards 200 Likes; my Twitter followers are now almost 1300, and although I still have a ways to go to reach massive sales of my Epic Fantasy series (something I have every confidence I will achieve one of these days 🙂 – Go to Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Goodreads to read more about my books), I couldn’t have done it without YOU!

As I am known to say at every opportunity: YOU GUYS ROCK!!

Share the love, and never stop supporting each other! It comes back to you one way or the other!


Heart Images courtesy of  Royalty Free Images at stock.xchng

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Awesome, uplifting, and well-written post, Monique! I have a smile on my face as I type…:)

    Like

    • Thanks, Karen. Glad I could make you feel good. This post is written to people like you. Thanks for all the ways you’ve contributed to my journey so far – including this comment.

      Like

  2. What a delightful post, Monique, and one I can relate to. Like you, I’m new to the social media arena and have made so many wonderful friends through Twitter, Triberr, blogging, and Facebook. Authors are a wonderfully supportive group and it warms my heart to help those struggling with the same hurdles I face.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Mae. I, too, find it satisfying and a lot of fun helping others take off and get known because I know what it feels like to start from scratch with no Twitter followers, FB Likes, Goodreads friends, or Triberr mates! I believe we are here to support each other, and, hey, the added bonus is that it makes us feel really good about ourselves for contributing to someone elses life/writing career, and the global writing community in general!

      Like

Leave a Reply

