Live in the Now, because then the Future is Guaranteed

Gizmo

We have one of the most beautiful cats I’ve ever seen! Her bright green eyes are easy to spot when she ‘hunts’ in the bushes in our garden (I say hunt in inverted commas because she is an indoor cat and I don’t think she knows how to stalk or hunt anything!), and when she stares out the window and the sun is shining brightly her vertical irises almost disappear, leaving behind huge pools of green luminescence. Besides her prettiness she is one intelligent feline, and, to which all cat owners can attest, she thinks she owns us! But there’s one thing about my cat – Gizmo by name – that always amazes me: she only lives in the moment in which she finds herself. She is either sleeping, or eating (her favourite activity), or playing (she does this frequently by herself!), or sleeping . . . ah, yes, sleeping!!

Now, I know she is just an animal with no ability to think ahead or plot or plan, and here I am about to compare myself – and you – to her, but let me explain.

The greatest thing I admire (and envy) about Gizmo is her ability to just Be! She enjoys whatever she’s doing in any particular moment, and thoroughly, too, and I frequently wish I could also just relax and doze in the sun without worrying or thinking about what’s coming next! She doesn’t fret about whether she is going to get her next meal or whether she will have a roof over her head for the rest of her life or even if she will live a full life. No, she is at total peace, trusting in where she is at that very second. She is always happy – unless I’m taking too long to feed her and then she lets me know about it by screeching or biting my fluffy slippers – and always content because there’s no reason for her not to be. She is, in fact, the perfect cat!

Just relaaaaaaxxxxx!!!

And us? Well, are you completely happy and content right at this very moment? Is your mind at peace and not racing with new ideas, plots, plans, reminders, and a myriad of future events and dreams? I can tell you that right now I am definitely not at total peace! Although I do my best to live in the Now, to enjoy what I am doing this very moment, putting all my energy and concentration into writing this blog, my mind is already thinking about what I will be doing after I finish here. I have to check Twitter, Facebook, Triberr, Tumblr, Pinterest . . . and on and on and on! Whew! Exhausting, don’t you think?

I believe that if we can find the peace in each moment, savour it, let it flow over our minds and bodies and remove all the stress and mental clutter and noise, then we will be able to accomplish so much more with our careers and our relationships – personal and professional.

This week I’ve read quite a few blogs about deciding to slow down just to see what comes of it. Each person discovered that by allowing themselves the time to be removed from the race of Social Media, self-promotion, keeping up with the latest trends, and spending hours staying connected with the oh, so many sites they all belong to, and all because of the fear of losing contact and momentum (especially newer writers – I say this because I am one and the lure of Social Media is very great!), it has brought them much-needed time to simply THINK and BE and LISTEN to their inner-selves and rediscover their passion and joy and awareness of just how much they have within them that still hasn’t been shared with the world!

You see, being too busy, too involved with things that take up our every waking moment, we lose contact with that part of ourselves that actually matters more than what’s going on in the big, wide world. That place of stillness and quiet, the place where our ideas and stories and masterpieces are born, is inside us and definitely not on the computer or on the TV or in a book or in a blog, no matter how brilliant that book or blog!!

I’m not saying you must now go and meditate or something, but I do urge you to make a decision to try something far removed from the norm; from your norm. For me it’s learning to be like Gizmo more often, to lie down in the sun and bake and snooze while the world carries on around me. There, I know, I will dream and create and learn more about who I really am: a creator, a word-magician, weaving stories that will make the ones who read it dream, too.

Not a care in the world!

Success – not only what the world sees it as but how we personally see it – isn’t only created by the fruits of our labour but by the sense of accomplishment we get when we achieve a goal. As writers we know how time-consuming and exhausting it can be to write a novel – how much of ourselves we pour into every word, and then afterwards dealing with rewrites and the editing process, etc, etc. We need to stay focused without losing the passion and the wonder of what we do. I can tell you now that unless we find the time to lie in the sun and dream and allow our muses/our unconscious minds/our higher selves to reveal the endless treasures we truly possess inside us, we will eventually get to a point when we’ll be too exhausted to think straight and soon the magic will dissipate and become unreachable from the outside (hello writer’s block!!!). The good news is that it will never leave us; it remains part of us, but it needs us to be still, to listen, to dream, and you know you can only dream when you’re at rest!

Believe me when I say that there is much, much more to you that you yet realise. True life, true living, has to come from within. The ideas for your stories come from there, in any case, so why spend more time in the world and not more time with the most important part of your world: yourself!?!

I’d love to read your thoughts on this. Share your ideas on how you relax and listen to your inner-self. I’m sure there are people reading this who need some ideas on how to just Be.

 

Related Articles:

Giving Up Reading by Diane Mackinnon http://www.nhwn.wordpress.com

 

 

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

