Your So-Called Wrongs Become Right When as a Writer You are Writing

“Am I doing this right? Do I know what I’m doing? Is passion enough? Will the reader understand me? Will the critics understand me?”

We’ve all asked ourselves these questions at some point in our writing careers, no matter how long or short those careers. Whether seasoned or inexperienced I believe we need to write as we were born to, as we have been gifted to, as we have been impassioned to, because it is who we are not what we do.

I recently read a blog by a writer who does copywriting for a living, and she expressed her frustration and downright despair at not having the time during one particularly tough day to fit in her passion: creative writing. Copywriting is a job for her, and something she enjoys, but it is not her passion! Sharing her almost-horror at being prevented from doing what gives her so much joy is exactly how I feel when life does not allow me the time to release this roaring fire within to create, to express, to release my passion onto the page through my fingertips so that those who read it will experience those same emotions and share in the magic of the story.

Passion and knowledge created this story, and it will keep creating ’til the day I die!

To question yourself is practically blasphemous, in my opinion. Asking the questions mentioned above is a betrayal of yourself – of your gifts, talents, abilities, and, above all, your passion which you cannot learn or train for or attain through copious writing courses and workshops. Your passion is in-born; it is a wonderful gift from the Universe and it is yours alone. The only responsibility you have is to share it, and what better way to do so than to write a story (or create music or choreograph a dance or write a song)? Expression is part of every human being; for some to a larger degree and for others less so, but it is natural and inherent.

Those of you who read my blog regularly know by now that I support, agree with and encourage every writer to improve their skills, but not to the point that your passion – that part of you that is unique – is quashed! I’ve read such brilliant blogs by writers who know a lot more than me about many things and who have a lot more experience, but I am never intimidated by them, or put off writing because theirs is so good, or feel inferior to them, or compare my writing to theirs, because I have a very strong faith in my abilities and my unique skills. They can never write like me and I can never write like them. Many of us believe this of oursleves and others not because we are arrogant or drowning in our egos, but because we know we are unique and have incomparable stories to tell the world – JUST LIKE YOU!

We write because we have to. I danced because if I didn’t then I felt like I’d die! Thank goodness I rediscovered my passion, my love, my addiction for story telling and it saved me! Create, I must, or die! Dramatic? Sure, but true!!!

The point of this blog as always is to encourage you and help you see yourself as you truly are. Feed your passion! NEVER quash it! NEVER doubt it! Set it free to rule the world and it will! Stop asking stupid questions and doubting yourself because you read great work and see others succeed. Guess what? They have all been on a journey that started where you might be right now: The Beginning!

Yes, PASSION IS ENOUGH! Trust it, then go from there. If you need to learn stuff to improve then learn it; if you need help then ask; if you are stuck then get advice – but, please, don’t allow the passion of others to make you doubt yours. Nothing is more beautiful than being yourself!

Twyla Tharp – She didn’t listen to her critics and became one of the most renowned dancers/choreographers of the twentieth century!

Oh, and a final word: Please, don’t ever allow a critic to dictate to you whether you should do something or not. If your very soul is soaring and singing as you bash out your story, pour out your heart, and release the brilliance and beauty of your spirit – your very essence – then do you know what? That story is meant to be born!!!

Never doubt yourself again!

I’d love to hear from you. Share how you have grown or the personal/emotional struggles you’ve experienced as a writer who loves and lives for writing; or add to this blog and encourage others who read it!

Image of  Twyla Tharp courtesy of Google.com

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

Leave a Reply

