Start Where You Are, Enmeshed in Your Unique Brilliance . . . then Never Look Back!

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs this week about using what you have been given/already have and going from there, and that no matter where that place is it’s okay. And I completely agree with that because when I started writing at the age of 40 I was officially out of school for over twenty years, and how the heck can I remember everything I learnt in English class over twenty years ago?!? Practically nothing! So I had to start again; I had to re-teach myself the basics, all the rules, the how to’s and what not to’s (huh?). It was exciting but also terrifying. There I was, sitting at my new laptop attempting to write a novel, for heaven’s sake, and I couldn’t remember what a preposition was or a past participle! Yeah, that was me then, but not now!

In a previous blog titled ‘Don’t Despise the Day of Small Beginnings! A Bio with a Difference’ I encouraged new writers to never think that they are inferior in any way to the Superstars of the literary world because they’ve only just begun. Every single one of those Superstars started where we all did – writing that first essay in school, sending that first short story to a magazine, attempting that first novel with fear and trembling. We’ve all had some form of education; we all know how to read and write; we all know how to communicate. All our experiences may be very different, but if we’re writing that means we believe that we can do this magical thing and create with words.

Even the Superstars Started at the Beginning!

 

In another blog titled ‘Listen to the Voices . . . unless they mess with who you are!’, I shared my opinions about the dangers of allowing the well-meaning advice of others to take control of your writing process by giving you too much information about how to write to the point that you lose the true you, that unique creation you are, and being overcome by the flood of tips and guidelines and suggestions you need to follow if your writing is to improve and you want to sell your work and get noticed. Again I say, please be wary, because although most of those tips are very helpful they become the complete opposite when they change the kind of writer you are – your unique style, your personality even – and turn you into a clone, a copy, a robot that only does the bidding of others, someone who does not have the ability anymore to trust your instincts and follow your own heart. You, in effect, become someone else entirely; you write like them and your work looks like theirs.

Now I’m NOT saying don’t read those tips and take that advice, but listen to your inner voice, that voice that knows all truth, and trust yourself to only take what you need to make yourself a better writer and discard those things which will interfere with your uniqueness and brilliance. Discernment is the key! If I had listened to some of those well-meaning voices before I attempted my first novel I don’t think I would have started! I lacked experience and knowledge, for sure, but what I didn’t lack was belief in myself, in my story, in where I wanted to go, and what I wanted to achieve! Passion never lies!! Now I’ve published two novels and I know they’re good because I took what I needed from the most experienced, applied it, and then made it my own! No one else has written or even imagined my story, or can; no one else has my abilities; no one else writes like me; and I am not a clone of any of my favourite authors! I am simply ME!

By all means learn from the Superstars and other authors you admire and respect, but please don’t let them dictate who you should be and how you should write. That is entirely YOUR decision to make. Follow your passions; listen to your instincts; believe in your brilliance; and know that what you have to offer the world no one else can match!

Happy writing!!

I love hearing from you! Please leave a comment and share me with the world!

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t think a single “big name” author would disagree with you on this one. To those of you starting out……… take note! The same can also be said to all the social media hype that everyone is suddenly an expert on. Do what works for you, there is no one-size-fits all recipe.

    Like

    • I totally agree with you, Sharon. Take what you need and discard the rest. You don’t need to follow the crowd, especially if your heart/intincts is/are telling you not to. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Your So-Called Wrongs Become Right When as a Writer You are Writing « moniquerockliffe

Leave a Reply

