The Joy (and hard work) of Seeing the Pursuit of Your True Purpose Rewarded

Don’t be fooled! Entering a new field after being totally absorbed in another since you were five is not easy, but when the payoff happens then you feel justified and somewhat relieved at making the risky decision in the first place! And even when the road is paved with bumps, ridges, gullies, and raging rivers you somehow make it through because you’ve followed your heart and not your head, that part of you that screams “Caution! Caution! Unknown territory ahead!”

When I started this journey of discovering new territory, I wondered if I was slightly insane, and I’ve since discovered it helps! But in a good way, of course! Where dreams and passions are concerned being a little illogical and deaf to those rational voices around you helps tremendously. Dancers in particular will agree with me on this because they understand that facing obstacles everyday – whether it be your body, your thinking, or your faith in yourself . . . or all three! – actually turns you into a better person and artist, because despite the obstacles you keep going and going and going until you achieve something spectacular, something that leaves you panting and astonished but also saying, “I knew I could do this!”

I must urge you, as a fellow dreamer and as someone who wants to help you, the reader, to also dream and rediscover that magic we’ve all lost since moving into adulthood. It is my ultimate purpose as a storyteller to help you escape any form of hum-drum existence you may find yourself in and take you on a journey of total escape and wonder, not just temporarily but as you re-enter reality when you put the book down.

My characters are fictional but what they face, especially KC, my main character, is real, as are their feelings. Throughout her journey KC has to learn that although she finds herself in a situation she never wanted – forced into it through a desperate act of love – she nevertheless has to come to terms with who she is and who she was created to be and accomplish. We all have faced such situations and frustrations, but once we allow God/The Universe to guide us and reveal our true purpose we suddenly find that we are capable of so much more than we ever imagined. Just look at me! Until a couple of years ago I never imagined I would have two books published! It’s awesome!

The message: Don’t limit yourself – in ANY way! Learn about yourself and don’t forget what you were passionate about as a kid. If you’re doing something you hate then change it! Rediscover yourself and allow yourself to be who you were created to be!

As for me, I rediscovered my first-love: reading and writing, and now look what I’ve done! Cool, huh?!!

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on April 14, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Worth Commenting

    good sound advice, don’t limit yourself. i totally agree.

    Like

    • Thanks so much. So many people accept their limitations and refuse to see their true potential and fail to understand that nothing is impossible. It took me a long time to see that in myself. Publishing my books made it real! I really enjoy what you have to say, too.

      Like

      • Worth Commenting

        as a book writer too, i felt it was a great accomplishment, writing my fourth now…even though it isn’t a hit or even sold any copies i feel it was an accomplishment

        Like

  2. Congrats on publishing your work! It is indeed a great accomplishment finishing what you’ve started and believing enough in yourself and your work to get it out there! If you have excerpts to share please send them to mrockliffe7@gmail.com. I am always interested in reading what others have done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

