It’s been a while – but a lot has happened!

So, Book 2 ‘The Sword Bearer’s Journey’ is out and I’m as thrilled as a new mom! Now the hard work of marketing begins, and I say hard work because for me marketing takes more effort than writing! But it is as essential to the journey as writing is to the soul. If you’re new at this then please listen up!

There are hundreds of tools to help you, and make use of them you must if you want the world to know you and your ‘baby/babies’ exist! Most self-publishing companies have wonderful packages. Alas, one must pay for these. But there are many, many ways to market for free. Please see the links I have included for you to get started. Otherwise, just Google your questions!

For a long time I was simply hoping I’d get seen (on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc) and then the world would get to know me. But there are literally thousands of first time writers out there who are scrambling for attention and you have to find a way to make yourself noticed. To do that you need to find a unique way. There are so many opinions about which actions to take so you need to find what suits you best and also decide how much time and work you’re willing to put into the process. Me, I don’t have a lot of time (I’d prefer writing!) but as a newbie I have to make the effort. Hope these links help you as much as they’ve helped me.

(Thanks to Anthony Rockliffe and Hildegardt Theron for these. They’ve really helped!)

http://reviews.cnet.com/self-publishing/

http://blog.marketingtipsforauthors.com/

http://www.copyblogger.com

‘Til later!

PS Please leave your comments. Ta!

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, Tools to Help You Get Started and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

