Follow the Passions of your Heart-You Have the Power!

When I first decided to begin writing a part of me thought I was nuts! I mean, the last time I did any kind of English Studies was in Matric eons ago! Ha-ha! But, I must say that once I got started and I gave my imagination the reins and allowed my unconscious to take over then the story and the learnings came as I needed them. And it’s been the most exciting journey I’ve ever been on – yes, even more exciting than my dance career because with writing there are no limits to what you can do.

Dance was a wonderful teacher in more ways than one. I loved to create and make a role mine – unless someone stepped in and decided they knew how I could do it better. I wish I had the guts in those days to tell them to get out of my way and allow me to be me, because although they were trying to help they forced their own world views onto me and then I had to try to fulfill their dreams and desires when I had more than enough power and ability to do it better. But, hey, it taught me one very important lesson: the talents and abilities I was born with are more than enough to make me succeed with anything I put my hand to. I am more than a conqueror, in any case; I can be whomever I want and do whatever I want no matter what those around me might have to say about it!!!

Don’t allow others to dictate to you how to live your life. If you have a burning dream that has not diminished in its intensity since the day you can remember having the ability to think for yourself and dream, then you MUST pursue it with every fibre of your being. You have the power; you have the ability; you have the talent and the backing from God or the universe – however you choose to think about it – and this then should make you fearless and determined to never back down, even in the face of the most violent opposition.

Listen to me (if you dare): don’t allow anyone else to dictate to you how to do something. I’m not saying don’t listen to sound advice and words of wisdom, but only listen to those you trust and respect with your life. And if what they say doesn’t sit right with you then always follow your heart where your passion burns brightest and strongest. Don’t ever let anyone tell you you can’t do something, especially when you cannot see any obstacles standing  in your way to speak of. I did not allow my supposed lack of knowledge to stop me from succeeding in publishing my first book – and there are another four books in the series still to come after this, and then many more after!! There’s nothing like holding the fruits of your labours in your hand, bound and printed and for sale, after months of hard work and listening to your heart that what you’re doing is so right.

So, go for it! Let nothing and no one hold you down! You have the power! You have everything you need to make whatever you want in life become a reality! And don’t let anyone tell you different!

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on March 12, 2011, in Believe in Your Writing Abilities, Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

