Don’t Allow Your Dreams to Remain Just Dreams

It’s very easy for us as u’mans to dream! We were born to it! It’s the most natural part of us: It’s God-inspired, soul-inspired, and there isn’t anyone alive that does not possess the ability to dream. But the problem is that for most of us that’s just what they remain: intangible, unreachable, mystical, until we realise that, to use a well-known quote: “If you can dream it, then you can become it”.

The above quote was not meant to only give us hope but to encourage us to make our dreams a reality, no matter our age or present circumstances. We love to make every excuse under the sun as to why going after our dreams is a waste of time: “I don’t have the resources” or “I’m too old now” or “I have other responsibilities now” etc, etc. These are all excuses designed by our ego’s to keep us in our comfort zones and turn us into boring, uncreative, lazy creatures who have lost the will to live a magical life!

Everything is possible to those who believe! The hardest step is making the decision to get started. I wanted to write so badly, and for a while my favourite excuse was that I had finished school twenty-four years ago and that was the last time I studied anything because becoming a professional ballet dancer was my only goal in life, when I was seventeen. So, how on earth was I going to remember what I’d learnt in my english lessons at school about grammar and all the rules? Well, all I did was begin reading a lot more, and before I knew it I had relearned everything from the brilliant storytellers whose works I love to read. And then I GOT STARTED!!! It was tough in the beginning, but the more I wrote the easier it became, and then, voila!, my first book was published! There’s nothing to compare to the feeling you get when you’ve accomplished a dream and know that things only get better from here!!

So, I urge you all to make a start! Don’t be afraid of the obstacles you see; stop making excuses and use that stubborn determination (inherent in all of us) to cast all such thoughts aside and take the bull by the horns! Believe in yourself – believe me when I say you haven’t lost that deep inner confidence that you can do anything you set your mind to.

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on February 10, 2011, in Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, Tools to Help You Get Started, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

