The Reality of Fantasy

When I started writing seriously – fantasy being the most obvious choice – I didn’t realise until the first draft was done how it would drastically change my life. Creating is such a natural part of us u’mans, and as the words hit the page I became aware of how privileged I am to be able to create my own world and give birth to my own characters, who immediately take on a life of their own as soon as they are named! They think for themselves, and inevitably start creating for themselves. The excitement and passion that fills me every time I sit down to continue the next part of the story, makes my spirit soar as the story once again takes flight and takes on a life of its own, and I sit amazed at the magic of it all!

Khyri’s constant internal torment and struggle to accept who she is; Ren’s passion for his life-mate; Khyl’s constant struggle to keep hold of his soul as he serves his brother, now  a monster of great evil and cruelty, to name but three characters in ‘The Sword Bearers’, and the second book, ‘The Sword Bearer’s Journey’ (still being written), make the galaxy of N’varda a place of great beauty but also terrible cruelty as a war threatens to destroy every good thing, including joy, passion, love, and the basic right to survive. There is always someone who wants to take it all away, isn’t there?

I believe that in all the fantastical stories out there, the authors write from self experience and their own dark or happy places, and, of course, on how they view the world and those around them, and it simply must end up in the worlds of their creations. In every word you will see their beliefs about the condition of the u’man heart and the world around them, just as my story does, for authors are passionate people with diverse opinions, some twisted, some not, but I think we all just love to create worlds where good always triumphs over evil, and there is great faith in u’man-kind no matter how bad things look.

I am learning about belief and that I draw unto me all I truly believe in, about myself and my world. There are always consequences to ones actions, especially thoughts. So, think about what you’re thinking about, for it will surely come to pass – evil or not. My creations are perfect examples of this. See for yourself.

About SwordBearer

I am a fantasy and science fiction author. I have published three epic fantasy novels in a tetralogy with Xlibris Publishing, and a sci-fi short story, The Door. All are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major online retailers. The Door is also available on Smashwords. I love reading everything from King to Koontz, Cussler to Brooks and Feist, to name but a few. Before writing became my life I was a professional ballet, jazz/contemporary dancer in South Africa. Writing and storytelling have always been passions since childhood, and I want to share them with the world!!

Posted on January 26, 2011, in Just Begin!, Passion versus Knowledge, Tools to Help You Get Started, You are a Creator! Believe it! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

